Creative writing challenge... who's interested?

I’m by no means a professional writer, and I haven’t done any creative writing in probably 20 years… but in the spirit of fun and creativity here’s a writing challenge idea that’s been kicking around in my head for a couple of years.

The premise is simple; a scene is provided without any real context, and writers craft a short story around the scene however they see fit. The only requirement is that the scene needs to be included without modification, but how and where is up to the writer.

Is it the opening scene? Somewhere in the middle? The shocking climax?
And what about the characters? Who is the protagonist? The antagonist? What is the MacGuffin the people are after? Is the story a contemporary techno thriller? A scifi story? Fantasy? Something else?

I know @SaintSovereign has mentioned being into creative writing, anyone else interested?

I’ve got a scene ready to go, if anyone wants to play. :sunglasses:

4 Likes

I’m trying to get back into creative writing, though I don’t have any subs/modules for it in my stack :stuck_out_tongue: I’d be willing to participate, if for no other reason than to get the creative juices flowing.

I’ve been practicing writing these last two days. Ran UA for the last three months, let’s go!

count me in

Let’s roll it!

I’ll try to try

1 Like

Ok, awesome!

In order to not color each other’s perceptions as to the story frame, please don’t post your version until January 2nd. Or, if you want, PM it to me. I’ve shown the story seed to 2 different people so far, and each had very different ideas of what was going on, which is exactly the intent I had in mind!

Story seed will be posted momentarily. (depends on how long it takes to fix any formatting when I paste from Word!)

1 Like

Without warning the Ops center doors flew open and Marcus, head of the special projects division, strode into the room with a scowl on his face.