Learning Lessons in Life

Just wanted to seek some thoughts on this topic.

Are we here in life to learn lessons?

Is growth through failure, pain and suffering necessary to achieve our goals?

3 Likes

Interesting topic. I learned a very hard lesson in life. Back when I started my career in IT I worked as a helpdesk agent explaining to people what a spacebar is or where the Esc button on the keyboard is. We usually made fun of people that didn’t knew our newly learned skilled, I became cocky and thought I knew it all but my day came.

Fast forward to my next job where I had to work in-field, go to different sites to fix what needs to be fixed. That was also the time I first experienced customised windows images. I had to call this company’s networks admin where they asked me to switch on their firewall. The place where I usually access my network places was not there anymore and I started to panic. The cocky and arrogant person I was didn’t ask for help until the guy asked me what’s the hold up, long story short…

Those guys on the other end did the exact same thing to me I did to others, they laughed their asses off and didn’t even hide it. I treat people way differently after that, even if you are younger than me. One of my important life lessons, apologies on the essay.

4 Likes

I think it’s different for everyone. Did you ever know someone who since being a child just had a predetermined trajectory? Like they had an interest, had a healthy environment to nurture that, and off they went. Pain or challenge? Nah. It was all smooth sailing.