Financial Modelling

Any experts on financial modelling here?

I wonder which online course is best for beginners.

I am not new to financial models but have only modelled revenues and opex due to my familiarity with my sector.

Would like to learn how to build a real financial model from scratch.

i don’t have formal accounting experience though I know enough to read and understand financial statements.

I’ve also worked on enough due diligence projects where I have to scrutinize the P&L, have taken courses on project finance, and regularly look at financial statements for my own knowledge.

When I was doing my MBA, these guys came to our school and I took a day course with them: https://trainingthestreet.com/public_courses/corporate-valuation/

Our instructor was Chirag Saraiya and he was great. Highly recommend it.

2 Likes

I’m no expert. I did make a spreadsheet that I have one sheet of all my recurring bills/expenses and anything else I need to include. Such as $200 per paycheck for food (groceries).

In a way, it’s similar to the YANB “Envelopes” approach. But what my sheet does is it tracks each expense over the previous rolling 12 months so I know the average monthly amount for each one.

The sheet then tells me how much out of each paycheck needs to be direct deposited into my ‘Expenses/bills’ checking account. ( have a separate account for bills/expenses like utilities, another one separately for rent, as my rental agency has authorization from me to take rent out directly each month.

Yes, I even have my rent on automatic withdrawal now.

Another tab in the sheet shows how many hours I actually have to work to pay each expense. Rent is by far the largest right now. I need 32 of my 80 hours just for that. The sheet helped me determine that due to my expense load, I have to work the full 80 hours PLUS 14 hours of Overtime on each check.

Not something I’d have known had I not taken the time to plot out the sheet.