Creating a book series

Hey everyone

I am new to this whole idea of creating a book series. I would love some tips for a newbie.

I have been dreaming a lot lately of writing a book series about a group of friends that gets transported from a game world to a new land by a god of chaos.
It would basically be a LITRPG.

And if i do end getting serious about it. I would also love to give a few people or a lot of people a copy of it and get feedback.

3 Likes

Stephen King - On Writing, is a great resource for you.

I recommend that book.

3 Likes

I’m not sure if it counts as a LitRPG, but as a kid, I used to read / play the hell out of those Lone Wolf books. Had combat, decision trees, etc.

I second AMASH’s advice about reading On Writing – although, it’s a bit… misleading. It’ll definitely help you get started, but some of the things he recommends are questionable. For example, he talks about how he freehands entire stories and novels and eschews writing an outline. I’m the exact opposite – I prefer to have an exceptionally detailed outline before even writing a single page.

I’d recommend learning basic storytelling principles (not saying that you don’t, but before I write ANYTHING, I still read this book) and check out The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler. Hands down, the most helpful book you could read, in my opinion.

For Dialogue, check out the aptly named Dialogue, by Robert McKee. Amazing book. McKee is a bit long winded (and quite cantankerous in person), but the book is a masterclass in writing amazing dialogue.