A limiting Belief that's bothering me

Hi guy! Some of you might know that i am learning machine learning these days.

However, this terrifying thought is botherting me:

“Well and good that I am learning Data Science/ Machine Learning, AI. But will i ever be good enough to actually earn from this? after all, many people in the market have been learning doing it for years. I don’t know how long will it take me to get there? will i still be motivated in this journe y i f don’t see any returns? i have no idea of any present avenue to use this skills once i have learnt! I am enjoying learning now, but what after i have finished learning?”

any input will be appreciated

1 Like

It may not necessarily be a limiting belief.

It’s a valid question/concern to have with as much time/energy as you’re investing into this.
It comes down (in my opinion) to WHY you are learning it.

I’ve been programming since I was 5 years old (I’m 45 now for context). My first computer was a TRS-80 Color Computer 1. Vintage shit.

I’ve never really made money from programming directly. That may change. I just learned it because it fascinates me.

If you’re learning the DS/ML purely for economic/employment reasons, then for sure you want to make sure you find ways to have it pay for itself.

If you’re like me and learn something because it interests you, that’s good too, the motivation is different, as are the expected outcomes.

Before I or anyone can really help you, just look and see what your WHY is for learning DS/ML.

6 Likes

Did that help you build an app in five days?

Sounds like there is some imposter syndrome in there. I guess it can be a matter of confidence.

You can learn master Data Science/Machine first -. You are still young and those skills will be demand in YOUR future, even if not in your present.

2 Likes